Movin’ Out

So, since the year began, my plan has been to move to Redding. I’ve been working on that more this week (when I haven’t been binge-watching The Office)…


So, 2 weeks ago I decided I was going to quit my hellish job. I hated being there. I didn’t mind unloading shipments and being a forklift gopher for the assembly crew, but the expectations on me were immense. Unloading bundles of steel (up to 24′ long, and over 3000 lbs each 😯), dozens of pallets of tyres, several pallets of axles, and assorted steel pieces, among other things. Tires and axles were usually simple, if not time-consuming, to inventory and put away. Steel bundles are always awkward to move (if you breathe too hard, the bundle can start rotating on the forks; I’m only half-kidding). The assorted steel pieces were the worst because much of it was used by the weld shop. It was also difficult for me to identify, since I never used ANY of this crap! I was only the schmendrik who had to put it away…if space was available to put it away.

If having my figurative hair on fire wasn’t enough, the managers weren’t encouraging. The receiving manager (my primary boss) was who I preferred to talk to because, while not really a warm personality, he was at least calm and direct. I could respect that. The district manager, however, had a tendency to be condescending (speaking to you in such a way to make you feel dumber than you already did after a mistake), and the production manager seemed to never be satisfied with my work.

Location and tasks at hand aside, the work environment was chaotic and spiritually dark. Locker room banter was the native tongue of the warehouse. I not only hated being there, I also hated who I was when I was there. I became angry. I used many more 4-letter words than I want to admit (they don’t offend me, but I don’t make frequent use of them). I can’t remember having a job like this. So I quit.

I told my receiving manager on the last Friday of July that I was working my last day of the job. They were already looking for a replacement for me (I saw their Craigslist post for my job/responsibilities a few days prior).

When I left that afternoon I felt so free, like a big weight was removed from my shoulders. Sure, I was being paid $13 per hour (netting $10/hour), but what do I benefit if I bring home around $1600 per month by harming my soul? (Matthew 16:24, paraphrased).

I knew I’d do ok in August without work. 2 days later, I cashed out my investment in Bitcoin (a digital currency). The time was right; overall I’d invested just under $1000, and even after 2 previous withdrawals my investment was still worth over $1500!

But the big development in my story came the following day. Monday, I received a message from my property manager in Salem that my lease would not be renewed (it expires August 31st). At first, I wondered why. But a few seconds later, I added 2 and 2: I quit my job, and now I’ll be moving; start looking in Redding! The way I see it is that I took a step of faith by quitting, and the message from Salem was my reward. It was confirmation that I made the right move!

At present I have no job, nor a place to live in September. I’m not worried about that. I don’t know the ‘where, the ‘when, nor the ‘how’, I do know the ‘what’: I’m movin’ out!

One thought on “Movin’ Out

Leave a comment